2023 OBOA Awards Program

Deadline for nominations: Friday, July 14, 2023

Recognize a colleague today! The Oregon Building Officials Association Awards Committee is seeking nominations for individuals deserving special recognition through our prestigious Awards Program.

Submitting an award nomination is a great way to acknowledge individuals who have distinguished themselves in service to the Association and/or profession. The OBOA Awards Committee requires your recommendations by Friday, July 14 to be considered. The awards will be presented on August 17 during the 2023 OBOA Annual Business Meeting in-person at Eagle Crest. 

We are accepting nominations for the following categories: Building Official of the Year, “Rick Best Memorial” Permit Technician of the Year, Building Inspector of the Year, Plans Examiner of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, and Special Recognition Awards. The Special Recognition Award is for acknowledgment as you see fit, which allows for a member to be recognized for any/all efforts by their colleagues and peers that do not fall into the other categories. For example, in the past, a Special Recognition Award was given for Extraordinary Outreach Efforts and Extraordinary Use of Innovative Technology. Note: nominations do not have to be from within your own jurisdiction.

Please include/attach additional information/documents with your form, as necessary to complete your explanation/rationale.

Award Categories

  • Building Official of the Year

  • “Rick Best Memorial” Permit Technician of the Year

  • Building Inspector of the Year

  • Plans Examiner of the Year

  • Newcomer of the Year

  • Special Recognition Awards


Thank you for your support of the OBOA Awards Program!